The Enduring Flame Trilogy – Book 3: The Phoenix Transformed – By Mercedes Lackey & James Mallory


I waited too long to write this and now I’m having troubles getting my thoughts together. But that’s what I get for procrastinating. It’s still an amazing book though.

phoenixtransformedTitle: The Phoenix Unchained
Series: The Enduring Flame Trilogy; Book 3
Author: Mercedes Lackey & James Mallory
Genre: Fantasy
Audience: Adult
ROTS Setting: UU, Medieval, Dragons, Higher Magic
Synopsis: Just go read them and if you need more convincing; go read the review of the first book, The Phoenix Unchained.
Recommendation: Adult or late teens. I suggest having read The Obsidian Trilogy first but that technically isn’t required.

This trilogy has been amazing. Read the whole thing in 5 days and was completely satisfied in the end. This was my second time reading the trilogy but my first time through I didn’t appreciate this particular book as much as I should have. I can’t get too specific, but there are some large lulls and a lot of repeated events that my younger self found boring and not at all important to the main story. Thankfully having matured I can see how and why those parts where important to the characters along with the major and minor story arcs. It was a great lesson in reading the story for what it is and not what I think it should be.

The characters were great! I loved the introduction of Ancaladar to the mix but sort of missed the annoying unicorn sidekick. It was also nice that Ancaladar was frequently not there which allowed Tiercel and Harrier to not be overshadowed by his strong personality and general OP-ness.

There’s so much more I want to talk about. Like how the plot pulled in elements from the first trilogy but also from the world history. Where the world setting could head toward next, with the new information revealed. But alas there are too many things pulling for my attention….literally every time I have tried to right this.

It’s good. It’s great. Well written. Satisfying. Pleasantly complex. Grounded in the world. Expansive. Addictive.


<< Review of The Phoenix Endangered; Book 2

 Coming Soon The Dragon Prophecy Trilogy >>


The Enduring Flame Trilogy – Book 3: The Phoenix Transformed – By Mercedes Lackey & James Mallory

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s