Reply – The Underland Chronicles – Book 1: Gregor the Overlander – By Suzanne Collins

gregor the overlander.jpgHey Julia,

On your suggestion, I’ve read Gregor the Overlander and I am very glad that I did. At this point I don’t know if love it, but I certainly don’t hate it and I want to read further into the series.

Continue reading “Reply – The Underland Chronicles – Book 1: Gregor the Overlander – By Suzanne Collins”

Reply – The Underland Chronicles – Book 1: Gregor the Overlander – By Suzanne Collins

Dragonlance Lost Chronicles – Book 3: Dragons of the Hourglass Mage – By Margaret Weis & Tracy Hickman

Hey Jared,

It’s taken me too many months, but I’ve finally gotten around to finishing this trilogy. It was shorter than I thought. Only two books more and I’ve finished the Classic novels, then on to the Fifth Age which I have never attempted.

dragonsofthehourglassmage.jpgTitle: Dragons of the Hourglass Mage
Series: Dragonlance Lost Chronicles; Vol. 3
Author: Margaret Weis & Tracy Hickman
Genre: Fantasy
Audience: Adult
ROTS Setting: UU, Medieval, Higher Magic, Dragons
Synopsis: Raistlin Majere has become a Black Robe wizard and travels to Neraka, the lord city of the Dark Queen, ostensibly to work for her, though in reality he means to further his own quest for power. But Takhisis finds out that the dragon orb has entered her city and sends her draconians to find and destroy the wizard who has it in his possession. Before her agents can strike, though, Raistlin finds out that Takhisis means to take control of all wizardly magic. She has ordered Kitiara to set a trap for the Gods of Magic on the Night of the Eye, when all the high-ranking wizards will be in Neraka to celebrate. As the forces of light, with help from the good dragons, are turning the tide of battle, Raistlin is forced to flee, for his foes are closing in on him. As the Dragon Highlords vie for the Crown of Power in the Temple of the Dark Queen, Raistlin Majere wages his own desperate battle against Takhisis in the dungeons below and meets again the brother he betrayed. The fate of the world hangs in the balance.
Recommendation: Adult, maybe late teens. Any admirer of high fantasy should be familiar with this series.

Continue reading “Dragonlance Lost Chronicles – Book 3: Dragons of the Hourglass Mage – By Margaret Weis & Tracy Hickman”

Dragonlance Lost Chronicles – Book 3: Dragons of the Hourglass Mage – By Margaret Weis & Tracy Hickman

The Copernicus Legacy – Book 1: The Forbidden Stone – By Tony Abbott

Hiya Jared,

This is one of those Youth/Teen adventure series in the vein of Percy Jackson, Fablehaven, Alcatraz, and Ranger’s Apprentice. You know the type. There are kind of a dime-a-dozen, so the good ones really need to standout or they just get swamped. This one is right on the edge.

theforbiddenstone.jpgTitle: The Forbidden Stone
Series: The Copernicus; Book 1
Author: Tony Abbott
Genre: Fantasy/Science Fiction
Audience: Youth
ROTS Setting: CU, present day, astronomy
Synopsis: It all began when four friends-Wade, Lily, Darrel, and Becca-received a strange, coded email from Wade’s uncle Henry shortly before the old man’s sudden death. They set off for Germany to attend the funeral with Wade’s father, Roald, and discover that Uncle Henry left them yet another baffling message that they suspect is the key to figuring out how and why he died. The message leads to a clue, and the more clues they discover, the farther they travel down a treacherous path toward an ancient, guarded secret. Soon they are in a breathless race across the globe, running for their lives as a dangerous shadow organization chases them around every corner. Their only hope of saving themselves-and the world that they know-is to find twelve magical relics from a hidden past that will unlock the Copernicus Legacy.
Recommendation: A decent read, and good for younger readers.

Continue reading “The Copernicus Legacy – Book 1: The Forbidden Stone – By Tony Abbott”

The Copernicus Legacy – Book 1: The Forbidden Stone – By Tony Abbott

Temeraire – Book 3: Black Powder War – By Naomi Novik

Jared,

Oh ya! China was a nice distraction, but the cannons and dragons are what really pull me into this series.

blackpowderwarTitle: Black Powder War
Series: Temeraire; Book 3
Author: Naomi Novik
Genre: Alternate History/Fantasy
Audience:Young Adult/Adult
ROTS Setting: Alternate History: Early 1800s, Dragons, Naval Ships
Synopsis: Captain Will Laurence and his extraordinary dragon, Temeraire, are ordered to retrieve and escort a precious cargo of valuable dragon eggs from Istanbul to England. They take the Old Silk Road from China to Istanbul, crossing deserts and mountains. En route to England, they help the beleaguered Prussians battle Napoleon.
Recommendation: I surprisingly/not surprisingly have fallen in love with this series. Highly recommend it.

Continue reading “Temeraire – Book 3: Black Powder War – By Naomi Novik”

Temeraire – Book 3: Black Powder War – By Naomi Novik

Barsoom Series – Book 1: A Princess of Mars – By Edgar Rice Burroughs

Hey Jared,

John Carter is a classic, and this first book has been published for over 100 years. When I saw the movie, which wasn’t that great, it made me want to read the books because I could see what it might be. And I wasn’t disappointed.

a-princess-of-marsTitle: A Princess of Mars
Series: Barsoom; Book 1
Author: Edgar Rice Burroughs
Genre: Fantasy/Science Fiction
Audience: Adult
ROTS Setting: CU/AU, Mars, Aliens
Synopsis: Her oval face was beautiful in the extreme, her every feature finely chisled and exquisite, her eyes large and lustrous and her head surmounted by a mass of coal black, waving hair, caught loosely into a strange yet becoming coiffure. Similar in face and figure to women of Earth, she was nevertheless a true Martian–and prisoner of the fierce green giants who held me captive, as well!
Recommendation: Highly recommended!

Continue reading “Barsoom Series – Book 1: A Princess of Mars – By Edgar Rice Burroughs”

Barsoom Series – Book 1: A Princess of Mars – By Edgar Rice Burroughs

The Keys to the Kingdom – Book 1: Mister Monday – By Garth Nix

Hey Jared,

This book is one trippy ride. But in amongst the layers of crazy there’s an internal logic that manages to pull it altogether. It’s a feat of extreme skill and a slightly unhinged imaginative mind…..so, perfectly Garth Nix.

mistermondayTitle: Mister Monday
Series: The Keys of the Kingdom; Book 1
Author: Garth Nix
Genre: Fantasy
Audience: Youth
ROTS Setting: EU, Magic (sorta)
Synopsis: Arthur Penhaligon’s first days at his new school don’t go too well, particularly when a fiendish Mister Monday appears, gives Arthur a magical clock hand, and then orders his gang of dog-faced goons to chase Arthur around and get it back. But when the confused and curious boy discovers that a mysterious virus is spreading through town, he decides to enter an otherworldly house to stop it. After meeting Suzy Blue and the first part of “the Will” (a frog-looking entity that knows everything about the House), Arthur learns that he’s been selected as Rightful Heir to the House and must get the other part of the clock hand in order to defeat Monday. That means getting past Monday’s henchmen and journeying to the Dayroom itself. Thankfully, Arthur is up to the challenge, but as he finds out, his fight seems to be only one-seventh over.
Recommendation: I would recommend this book for youth, 8-12yrs.

Continue reading “The Keys to the Kingdom – Book 1: Mister Monday – By Garth Nix”

The Keys to the Kingdom – Book 1: Mister Monday – By Garth Nix

Five Kingdoms – Book 5: Time Jumpers – By Brandon Mull

Hey Jared,

The end of a series. It’s a bitter sweet time but I’m happy to see this series end and not get dragged out.

time-jumpersTitle: Time Jumpers
Series: Five Kingdoms; Book 5
Author: Brandon Mull
Genre: Fantasy
Audience: Youth/Teen
ROTS Setting: EU, Higher Magic
Synopsis: Trapped in a world where magic is powerful and dreams are real, Cole’s epic adventure comes to a close in book five of the New York Times bestselling “fanciful, action-packed adventure” series (Publishers Weekly, starred review), from the author of the Fablehaven and Beyonders series. Cole and his friends are pushed to the limit in this finale to the bestselling Five Kingdoms series. Will they finally be able to restore magic to the world of the Outskirts and find their way back home?
Recommendation: I recommend this series. They are an easy read, perfect for an intermediate reader/pre-teen/early teen.

Continue reading “Five Kingdoms – Book 5: Time Jumpers – By Brandon Mull”

Five Kingdoms – Book 5: Time Jumpers – By Brandon Mull

Dragon Keeper – Book 1: Dragon Keeper – By Carole Wilkinson

Hey Jared

I picked this up a couple months ago because I was in the mood for something a bit lighter and liked the idea of a dragon story based in Chinese mythology. And this book didn’t disappoint.

dragonkeeperTitle: Dragon Keeper
Series: Dragon Keeper; Book 1
Author: Carole Wilkinson
Genre: Fantasy
Audience: Youth
ROTS Setting: EU, Ancient China, Dragons, Magic (sorta)
Synopsis: In the time of the Han Dynasty in ancient China, the last remaining dragon is in danger of being killed by the cruel Emperor. A nameless orphan with no past and an uncertain future becomes his unlikely ally. The young orphan soon discovers that it is her destiny to protect the aging dragon and his mysterious purple stone. Chased by an evil dragon hunter and a powerful sorcerer, their adventure is not easy. Each must learn to help and understand the other if they are to survive. To succeed in her task, the young orphan must reach deep within herself to find courage she never knew existed. No longer can she be the timid, shy orphan she once was. She is now the one, true Dragon Keeper.
Recommendation: I would recommend this book for youth, 8-12yrs.

Continue reading “Dragon Keeper – Book 1: Dragon Keeper – By Carole Wilkinson”

Dragon Keeper – Book 1: Dragon Keeper – By Carole Wilkinson