Uglies – Book 1: Uglies – By Scott Westerfeld

Hi Jared,

I had intended to read one of Mr. Westerfeld’s adult novels but discovered it was the third book in the series. Naturally I couldn’t bring myself to jump that far into a new series. Thus I’ve settled for Uglies, one of his more well known series.

uglies.jpgTitle: Uglies
Series: Uglies; Book 1
Author: Scott Westerfeld
Genre: Dystopian/Science Fiction
Audience: Teen
ROTS Setting: CU, Near-Future, Dystopian
Synopsis: Tally is about to turn sixteen, and she can’t wait. In just a few weeks she’ll have the operation that will turn her from a repellent ugly into a stunning pretty. And as a pretty, she’ll be catapulted into a high-tech paradise where her only job is to have fun. But Tally’s new friend Shay isn’t sure she wants to become a pretty. When Shay runs away, Tally learns about a whole new side of the pretty world– and it isn’t very pretty. The authorities offer Tally a choice: find her friend and turn her in, or never turn pretty at all. Tally’s choice will change her world forever…
Recommendation: This series is recommended for tween girls.

Continue reading “Uglies – Book 1: Uglies – By Scott Westerfeld”

Uglies – Book 1: Uglies – By Scott Westerfeld

The Tabernacle of Legion – By Kevin Schillo

Hey Jared,

This is one of the review requests I accepted in the past couple of months. The sample chapters were pretty good and intriguing enough for a closer look.

the tabernacle of legionTitle: The Tabernacle of Legion
Author: Kevin Schillo
Genre: Science Fiction/Hard Science
Audience: Adult
ROTS Setting: CU, Near-Future, Aliens
Synopsis: In the midst of a golden era of space travel, an alien artifact is discovered in the asteroid belt. The artifact seems to defy fundamental laws of physics, and it is at least three billion years old. In an attempt to learn more about the artifact, NASA launches the most advanced spacecraft ever built, crewed by the most qualified men and women in the astronaut corps. But they are not alone in their endeavor. A being from the dawn of human history with a mysterious connection to the enigmatic aliens has been awakened, and he will stop at nothing to reach the artifact and claim its power for himself. And what they discover will be beyond anything they could have imagined
Recommendation: I do not recommend this book at this time.

A copy of this book was provided by the author for the purpose of obtaining a review.

Continue reading “The Tabernacle of Legion – By Kevin Schillo”

The Tabernacle of Legion – By Kevin Schillo

Legend Trilogy – Book 2: Prodigy – By Marie Lu

Hey Jared,

So, do you remember when I said Legend might be the best YA Dystopian ever? Prodigy doesn’t live up to it, and I won’t be reading the last book in the trilogy.

prodigy.jpgTitle: Prodigy
Series: Legend Trilogy; Book 2
Author: Marie Lu
Genre: Dystopian/Science Fiction
Audience: Teen/Young Adult
ROTS Setting: CU, Modern/Near-Future, Dystopian
Synopsis: Injured and on the run, it has been seven days since June and Day barely escaped Los Angeles and the Republic with their lives. Day is believed dead having lost his own brother to an execution squad who thought they were assassinating him. June is now the Republic’s most wanted traitor. Desperate for help, they turn to the Patriots – a vigilante rebel group sworn to bring down the Republic. But can they trust them or have they unwittingly become pawns in the most terrifying of political games?
Recommendation: This series is In Dispute for me now. Caution should be taken with this series.

Continue reading “Legend Trilogy – Book 2: Prodigy – By Marie Lu”

Legend Trilogy – Book 2: Prodigy – By Marie Lu

The Copernicus Legacy – Book 1: The Forbidden Stone – By Tony Abbott

Hiya Jared,

This is one of those Youth/Teen adventure series in the vein of Percy Jackson, Fablehaven, Alcatraz, and Ranger’s Apprentice. You know the type. There are kind of a dime-a-dozen, so the good ones really need to standout or they just get swamped. This one is right on the edge.

theforbiddenstone.jpgTitle: The Forbidden Stone
Series: The Copernicus; Book 1
Author: Tony Abbott
Genre: Fantasy/Science Fiction
Audience: Youth
ROTS Setting: CU, present day, astronomy
Synopsis: It all began when four friends-Wade, Lily, Darrel, and Becca-received a strange, coded email from Wade’s uncle Henry shortly before the old man’s sudden death. They set off for Germany to attend the funeral with Wade’s father, Roald, and discover that Uncle Henry left them yet another baffling message that they suspect is the key to figuring out how and why he died. The message leads to a clue, and the more clues they discover, the farther they travel down a treacherous path toward an ancient, guarded secret. Soon they are in a breathless race across the globe, running for their lives as a dangerous shadow organization chases them around every corner. Their only hope of saving themselves-and the world that they know-is to find twelve magical relics from a hidden past that will unlock the Copernicus Legacy.
Recommendation: A decent read, and good for younger readers.

Continue reading “The Copernicus Legacy – Book 1: The Forbidden Stone – By Tony Abbott”

The Copernicus Legacy – Book 1: The Forbidden Stone – By Tony Abbott

Animorphs – Book 8: The Alien – By K. A. Applegate

Hi Jared,

This might be one of the most useful books to the series. Maybe not the best, but a lot happens in a very short amount of time.

thealienTitle: The Alien
Series: Animorphs; Book 8
Author: K. A. Applegate
Genre: Science Fiction
Audience: Youth
ROTS Setting: CU, Modern, Aliens
Synopsis: What would you do if you were the only alien trapped on a strange planet? Probably freak out, right? Well, that’s what Ax feels like doing. But as an Andalite warrior-cadet, he has to be pretty cool about stuff like that. He’s been hanging out with the Animorphs ever since the Dome ship was destroyed by the Yeerks and his brother, Prince Elfangor, was destroyed by Visser Three. Life on Earth is pretty different for Ax. But there is one thing he, Cassie, Marco, Jake, Rachel, and Tobias have in common. Something that one alien, four kids and a hawk know they have to do: stop the Yeerks…
Recommendation: Highly recommend this series.

Continue reading “Animorphs – Book 8: The Alien – By K. A. Applegate”

Animorphs – Book 8: The Alien – By K. A. Applegate